Gala Success Dinner

7 pm 27th May

Celebrating good practice 

Our community is typically too busy achieving to take time out to celebrate success.  The Gala Success Dinner is the one exception. 

If you know of a project, initiative, individual that deserves recognition, read on. 

Waiter with Champagne Pyramid

Individual Awards


The Awards are primarily focussed on organisational achievements - the Best Practice Award Categories below are exemplars of that.

However there are two categories that are focussed upon the individual, they are the Distinguished Service Award and the Honorary Life Membership Award. 


The DSA is EDNZ's premier individual award and recognises the contribution of individuals to:

  • the image and practice of ED

  • research that has advanced the theory or practice of economic development in NZ

  • the advance of EDNZ 

  • the national or international recognition of the ED profession within NZ 


Honorary Life Membership Award


The panel has the opportunity to recognise the long and dedicated service of a practitioner who is retiring.

The winner will have rendered conspicuous service to the profession. Which includes involvement with EDNZ and its forerunner, contributions to economic development education, promotion of the profession to the wider community, representation of the profession in Government, non-Government, and community bodies or forums and the list goes on.


Best Practice



Best Practice Awards

EDNZ recognises seven categories of endeavour through the best practice awards.  They are: 

  1. Collaboration with iwi, business and community

  2. Inclusive development

  3. Primary Research

  4. Business Support Recovery Initiatives

  5. Integrated planning

  6. Inward investment

  7. Innovation

The winners of each of the above categories are contenders for the Premier Best Practice Award. 


To Nominate

To nominate for the EDNZ 2021 Annual Best Practice Awards please complete and submit the form linked below. 

Subscribe to EDNZ newsletter

09 4158962